## **Department of Radiological Protection and Nuclear Safety**

- J.G. ALVES, WG2 of EURADOS European Radiation Dosimetry Group, entitled Harmonization of Individual Monitoring in Europe
- J.G. ALVES, M.B. MARTINS, Esorex 2005 European study on Occupational Exposure
- F. P. Carvalho, Member of the Attendance Commission of the Concession to the Environmental Rehabilitation of Degraded Mining Areas (Base XII Decree-Law 198-A-2001 06.07)
- M. J. MADRUGA European Commission, Group of Experts referred to Article 35° and 36° of the Euratom Treaty. The group is responsible for the continuous monitoring of the radioactivity levels in air, water and soil of the different countries.
- M. J. MADRUGA, Member of the Attendance Sub-Commission of the Concession to the Environmental Rehabilitation of Degraded Mining Areas (Base XII Decree-Law 198-A-2001 06.07).

Department experts were involved during 2004 in the following Technical/Scientific Committees:

- Advisory Committee for Programme Management of Commmunity Plan of Action in the Field of Radioactive Waste (ACPM) - Expert Group, DGTREN/H2/EP, EU
- CCE Fision Working Group on Management of Radioactive Waste for Preparation of the next Framework Programme(FP7)

- Radioactive Substances Committee (RSC) of Oslo and Paris Convention, OSPAR
- Standing Working Group on Safe Transport of Radioactive Materials (TRAM), DGTREN/EU
- Net Enabled Waste Management Database (NEWMDB), IAEA
- Radioactive Waste Management Committee (RWMC), OECD
- European Waste Regulator Forum (EWRF)
- National Committee for Transport of Dangerous Goods (CNTMP)
- National Commission for Radiological Emergencies (CNER)
- Commission for Planning Emergency on Health (CPES)
- Portuguese delegate and "rapporteur" for Shielding and Dosimetry activities of the Nuclear Science Committee (NSC) of the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) of the OECD (Organization for Economic Co-Operation and Development).
- ITN representative to the General Assembly of EURADOS (EUropean RAdiation DOSimetry")

## **Chemistry Sector**

- L. GANO, National Coordinator in European Radiopharmacy Course, I.N.S.T.N., Saclay, France, Protocol INSTN/ ITN.
- I. SANTOS, National Delegate to the Management Committee of the COST Action B12, Radiotracers for *in vivo* Assessment of Biological Functions.
- I. SANTOS, External Expert of FCAR /Fonds pour la Formation de Chercheurs et l'Aide à la Recherche, Ministery Science and Technology, Quebec, Canada.
- I. SANTOS, External Expert for Grants of NSERC /Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada, Ottawa, Canada.

- I. SANTOS, Portuguese Representative in the Federation of European Chemical Societies, Working Group Nuclear and Radiochemistry
- I. SANTOS, External Expert of the Agencia Nacional de Promocion Científica, Tecnologia y de Innovacion, Ministerio de Education, Ciencia y de Innovation, Buenos Aires, Argentina.
- M. ALMEIDA, National Delegate to the Management Committee of the COST Action D14, *Molecular Functional Materials*.
- M. ALMEIDA, Member of the Evaluation Pannel of the Actinides Users Laboratory EC-JRC Karlsruhe.

ITN Annual Report – 2004

## **Physics Sector**

- F.G. CARVALHO, Observer to the ENSA (European Neutron Scattering Association) Committee.
- M.L. BOTELHO, National Delegate to ISO and CEN Committees:

*ISO/TC* – 198 – Sterilisation of Health Care Products and as an expert delegate in:

WG2 - Radiation Sterilisation

258

WG8 – Microbiological Methods

CEN/TC 204 – Sterilisation of Medical Devices

ISO/TC 209 - Cleanrooms and Associated

Controlled Environments related to WG2 - Biocontamination

ITN Annual Report – 2004